Walker Art Center Launches Online Archive Experience: 30 Years of Dialogues and Film Retrospectives
Skip to main content

Walker Art Center Launches Online Archive Experience: 30 Years of Dialogues and Film Retrospectives

The Walker Art Center announces the launch of an online archive of Dialogues and Film Retrospectives: The First Thirty Years. Visitors can explore more than 60 in-depth portraits of directors, actors, writers, and producers who were celebrated in the Walker Cinema at pivotal moments in their careers. Newly collected and designed as a digital experience, the dynamic catalogue is enriched throughout with archival sound and video interview recordings, transcripts, photography, and ephemera, as well as essays and articles written for the esteemed series of intimate onstage interviews and film retrospectives that screened between 1990-2020.

Experienced together, this rich online trove brings profound and personal conversations with some of the cinema’s most iconic figures to movie lovers all over the world. From the inaugural 1990 event when actor Clint Eastwood discussed his directorial debut, to earlier this year when director Bong Joon Ho arrived at the Walker just days after Parasite became the first non-English-language film to win the Oscar for Best Picture and days later when Julia Reichert showed up with her Oscar for Best Documentary for American Factory, a wealth of unique, diverse, celebrated filmmakers share behind-the-scenes stories and discuss the meaning of cinema in their lives on the Walker stage.

Sheryl Mousley, Senior Curator, Moving Image, said “For three decades the Walker Dialogue program has presented some of the most innovative and influential filmmakers of our time discussing their love of cinema with leading critics, writers, and historians.”


List of Guests:

Clint Eastwood

James Ivory

Jodie Foster

Edward R. Pressman

Keith Carradine

John Sayles

Ken Burns

Wim Wenders

Danny Glover

Robert Altman

Marcel Ophuls

Liv Ullmann

Lindsay Law and Julie Dash

Chen Kaige

Jim Jarmusch

Jane Campion

Haile Gerima

Agnieszka Holland

Timothy and Stephen Quay

Gordon Parks

Tom Hanks

Spike Lee

Peter Greenaway

Jessica Lange

Abbas Kiarostami

Terry Gilliam

Stan Brakhage

Werner Herzog

John Waters

Leos Carax

Doris Dorrie

Agnes Varda

Hanif Kureishi

Heddy Honigmann

Gus Van Sant

Matthew Barney

Frederick Wiseman

Guy Maddin

Apichatpong Weerasethakul

Alexander Payne

Ang Lee

Lili Taylor

Isabella Rossellini

Michel Gondry

Bela Tarr

Milos Forman

Mike Leigh

William Klein

Joel and Ethan Coen

Kelly Reichardt

Olivier Assayas

Julian Schnabel

Harry Belafonte

Lawrence Kasdan

Claire Denis

Noah Baumbach

Steve McQueen

Christopher Nolan

Todd Haynes and Christine Vachon

Robert Redford

Lucy Walker

Luca Guadagnino

Bong Joon Ho

Julia Reichert



List of Contributors:

Darsie Alexander

John Anderson

Phil Anderson

David Bordwell

Jay Carr

Stuart Comer

Julie Dash

Paulina del Paso

Roger Ebert

Howard Feinstein

Richard Flood

Scott Foundas

Molly Haskell

J. Hoberman

Eric Hynes

Arthur Jafa

Bruce Jenkins

Kent Jones

Tom Kalin

Stuart Klawans

Phillip Lopate

Scott Macaulay

Jim McKay

Elvis Mitchell

Richard Pena

Wollen Peter

Klaus Phillips

Terrance Rafferty

Berenice Reynaud

B. Ruby Rich

Susan Robeson

Jonathan Rosenbaum

Julie Salamon

James Schamus

Richard Schickel

A.O. Scott

Chuck Stephens

David Sterritt

Amy Taubin

Michael Tortorello

Kenneth Turan

Armond White